

# ALSA Annual General Meeting and Annual Council Meeting

Minutes

### Key details

Location: Sydney and online When: 15 July 2020 Chair: Margaret Cai Minutes by: William Vu

#### In attendance

- Adelaide University Law Students' Society;
- Australian National University Law Students' Society;
- Blackstone Society;
- Bond University Law Students' Association;
- Curtin Student Law Society;
- Deakin Law Students' Society;
- Deakin Law STudents' Society Geelong;
- Dictum Society;
- Edith Cowan Law Society;
- Flinders Law Students' Association;
- Griffith University Law Society;
- Griffith University Law Students' Association Inc;
- La Trobe University Law Students' Association;
- MacKillop Law Students' Society;
- Macquarie University Law Society;
- Melbourne University Law Students' Society;
- Monash Law Students' Society;
- Murdoch Student Law Society;
- Notre Dame Law Students' Society;
- QUT Law Society;
- Southern Cross University Law Student Society;
- St. Patrick's Law Students' Society;
- Sydney University Law Society;
- Tasmania University Law Society;
- University of Newcastle Law Students Association;
- University of Queensland Law Society Inc.;
- University of South Australia Law Students' Association;
- University of the Sunshine Coast Law Students' Association;



- University of Wollongong Law Students' Society; and
- UTS Law Students' Society,

(together LSS/As); and

• Australian Law Students' Association Committee (Aaron Payne, Amy Shao, Erin Ritchie, Madeleine Goodsir, Matthew Harris, Michael Brown, Nicholas Tsekouras, Sophia Pruim, Thomas Boyle, William Vu

(together ALSA Committee)).



# Welcome, opening and standing orders

The AGM commenced at 18:40.

Welcome and standing orders led by Margaret Cai.

#### Standing orders

The Council passed the following motions:

Motion 1: That LSS/As who have not paid their affiliation fees who make representations to do so be granted speaking rights

- Moved by William Vu
- Seconded by Margaret Cai

59 in favour 2 against 1 abstained

Motion 2: That all Australian Law Students be granted speaking rights

- Moved by William Vu
- Seconded by Margaret Cai

60 in favour 1 against 0 abstained

## **Committee reports**

LSS/As present: LSS/As and Committee

Margaret Cai, William Vu, Aaron Payne and Nicholas Tsekouras presented the Presidents, Administration, Finance and Education report, respectively. Matthew Harris also provided an update on his work as Education (Higher Education) Officer.

The AGM adjourned at 19:10 The AGM recommenced at 19:20

Motions

The Council adopted the following motions:

Motion 3: That Council adopt the Committee reports.

- Moved by William Vu
- Seconded by Margaret Cai



63 in favour 1 against 1 abstained

Motion 4: That the Council adopt the 2018-19 Financial Year Reports.

- Moved by William Vu
- Seconded by Margaret Cai

58 in favour 0 against 3 abstained

Action items: NA

# ALSA Awards

LSS/As present: LSS/As and Committee

Anamique Linney announced the winners of the ALSA Awards:

- Best Careers Publication: Sydney University Law Society
- Best Equity Publication or Event: UNSW Law Society
- Best Health & Wellbeing Initiative: Melbourne University Law Students' Society
- Best Community Contribution: UTS Law Students' Society
- Best First Year Initiative: UTS Law Students' Society
- Best Video or Online Activity: Monash Law Students' Society
- Innovation Award: UTS Law Students' Society

Action items:

• N/A

# Election 2020

LSS/As present: LSS/As and Committee

#### Motion 5

The Council appointed Margaret Cai as the returning officer.

- Moved by: William Vu
- Seconded by: Thomas Boyle

62 in favour 0 against 3 abstained

The AGM adjourned at 19:50 The AGM recommenced at 20:00



#### Motions to accept nominations

The Council approved the following motions.

Motion 6: That the Council accept the nomination of Nicholas Tsekouras.

- Moved by: William Vu
- Seconded by: Thomas Boyle

#### 60 in favour 0 against 1 abstained

Motion 7: That the Council accept the nomination of Sam Wilson.

- Moved by: William Vu
- Seconded by: Thomas Boyle

59 in favour 0 against 0 abstained

Motion 8: That the Council accept the nomination of Renee Shike.

- Moved by: William Vu
- Seconded by: Thomas Boyle

61 in favour 0 against 0 abstained

#### Executive candidate speeches

The candidates for Executive positions presented their candidate speeches and answered questions from LSS/As and the Committee:

- President (Nicholas Tsekouras and Sam Wilson)
- Vice-President (Administration) (Morgan Graham and Sophie Pruim)
- Vice-President (Education) (Gopika Ayyappan Aryad, Laura Sheridan, Lucy Sheppard and Renee Shike)
- Vice-President (Finance) (Eliza Magnus, Andrew McDade and Matthew Deetlefs)

The AGM adjourned at 21:33 The AGM recommenced at 21:43

#### Executive election winners

Margaret Cai announced the winners:

- President: Nicholas Tsekouras
- Vice-President (Administration): Sophie Pruim
- Vice-President (Education): Renee Shike
- Vice-President (Finance): Andrew McDade

#### Motion 9



The Council approved the following motion.

That the Council accept the nomination of Tom Walsh.

- Moved by: William Vu
- Seconded by: Thomas Boyle

54 in favour

2 against

1 abstained

#### **Committee candidate speeches**

The candidates from Committee positions presented their candidate speeches and answered questions from LSS/As and the Committee:

- Careers Officer (Aayushi Patel, Natalie Di Pasquale, Sharlene Morling)
- Competitions Officer (Alana Bonenfant)
- Education (Higher Education) Officer (Tom Walsh)
- Education (Students and Community) Officer (Lucy Sheppard, Preeti Somasi, Anabelle Weinberg)
- Information Technology Officer (Jackson Cocks)
- Marketing Officer (Gideon Daley, Samuel Guzman)
- Sponsorship Officer (David Chieng, Samantha Crkovsky)

#### The AGM adjourned at 23:00

The AGM recommenced at 23:11

#### Committee election winners

Margaret Cai announced the winners:

- Careers Officer: Sharlene Morling
- Competitions Officer: Alana Bonenfant
- Education (Higher Education) Officer: Tom Walsh
- Education (Students and Community) Officer: Anabelle Weinberg
- Information Technology Officer: Jackson Cocks
- Marketing Officer: Gideon Daley
- Sponsorship Officer:David Chieng

#### **Discipline & Grievance Committee speeches**

Arnab Ghosh Roy and Kevin Marco Tanaya presented their candidate speeches, and were not asked any questions.

#### **Discipline & Grievance Committee election winners**

Maraget Cai announced that Arnab Ghosh Roy and Kevin Marco Tanaya won their election.

#### Nominations from the floor for unfilled positions

Madeleine Goodsir announced that there were unfilled positions for the Discipline & Grievance Committee and opened nominations from the floor.

#### **Discipline & Grievance Committee floor candidate speeches**



Nathan Jasper, Thomas Boyle, Ben Quick, Morgan Graham, William Vu and Eliza Magnus presented their candidate speeches and answered questions from LSS/As and the Committee.

#### **Discipline & Grievance Committee election winners**

Madeleine Goodsir announced that Ben Quick and Nathan Jasper won their election.

#### Announcement of 2020/21 Committee

Margaret Cai announced the full 2020/21 Committee.

Action items:

• N/A

# Closing remarks

LSS/As present: LSS/As and Committee

Thomas Boyle made remarks thanking LSS/As for their support for Conference 2020 competitions.

William Vu made closing remarks thanking LSS/As and the Committee for persevering through the long AGM.

Action items:

• N/A

The detailed times of when LSS/As and Committee members joined or left the meeting can be requested by emailing Will Vu at administration@alsa.asn.au.

The AGM closed on 16 July 2020 at 00:10.

CHAIRPERSON'S SIGNATURE

Margaret Cai

Margaret Cai President

Date: 12 August 2020